Rico Toto - Fwa Épi Sajès (ICE 020)

Rico Toto - Fwa Épi Sajès (ICE 020)

Regular price €24.00 €0.00 Unit price per

Electronic & Synth Invisible City Editions New Age & Ambient Reissue Sublime Traditional Wave & Mutant Dance Zouk & Gwo Ka

Invisible City Editions continues our 10 year anniversary in adventurous sounds.

We are thrilled to announce the re-release of Rico Toto’s 1993 CD recording Fwa Épi Sajès. Mind melting synthesizers and drum machines fuse with ancient Guadeloupe Gwo-ka rhythms in this musical endeavour Rico Toto describes as “Electro-ka.” The improvised live instruments of the Moundjahka ensemble meld with electronic abstraction to create a psychedelic, immersive digital diaspora dream state. With nods to Jon Hassell’s atmospheric soundscapes, YMO and Baldelli / TBC Cosmic mixtapes, this selection of songs encompasses an entire spectrum of moods and sounds.

The A side begins with fourth-world tropical percussions, opening with sounds of nature in “Jungle Meditation” and leading into the downtempo summer synthpop jam “Yadadé.” The B side takes a darker turn, starting off with the deep chugging rhythms of “Rawal Pindi” and continues even deeper with synth sounds and haunting vocals that culminates into the dreamy meditative final track, “Golgotha.”

Limited vinyl repress in collaboration with Rico Toto. Artwork by Floating Bstrd.

A1 Jungle Meditation
A2 Egyptian Song
A3 Fwa Épi Sajès
A4 Yadadé

B1 Rawal Pindi
B2 First Odyssey
B3 Akacia
B4 Golgotha

2007 Mojaka
℗ © 2022 Invisible City Editions
All Rights Reserved
ICE 020 Invisible City Editions